The Bird and the Sword – Review

TBATS.png

SPOILER FREE:

Amy Harmon’s first release of 2016, The Bird and the Sword, was an amazing book I read back in May.  I devoured this book in less than 24 hours and still think of it frequently three months later.  For me, the mark of a great author is one who can create a story that sticks with me long after I finish the last page.  I’m not a typical fantasy reader, with the exception of the Harry Potter series, so I felt as if I was taking a risk with this book.  After seeing the many raving reviews on Goodreads, I knew I had to give it a chance.  I am without a doubt glad I did. 

I cannot pinpoint the thing I loved most about this story.  The poetry, the songs, the writing, the characters, and the world Amy Harmon created all contribute to the greatness that is this book.  The story is about Lark, a girl who has become mute after her mother dies.  She is caught in between her past, her silence, and her intrigue of Coryvn.  How can a young, mute woman with a strong Gift control her own destiny without letting on that she is indeed special?  You will not regret spending a few days engrossed in the world of Jeru.

This is most certainly a novel I will be reading again, once my TBR list shrinks considerably.

I am also highly anticipating the release of From Sand and Ash by Amy Harmon on December 1 of this year.  As a reader who absolutely loves Historical Fiction and Romance, I can hardly contain my excitement.  Be sure to check out all of Amy’s work.  Her writing could not be more superb.

Happy Reading,

♥ Ashley

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon DE – English Copy
Amazon DE – German Copy (pre-order copy)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

