Introvert Power – Review

img_7496

After reading Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking  by Susan Cain earlier this year, I have been on a mission to accept my introversion and help other introverts learn about this quality in themselves.  I was worried this book may be redundant and would not be able to teach me more about the subject matter.  I was wrong.  Where Quiet describes introversion in a matter-of-fact way, I felt Introvert Power taught me how to proudly be introverted.  I found myself within the pages of this book.  I felt that deep connection when someone says something you feel down in your bones, a connection that speaks directly to the soul. Laurie Helgoe acknowledged feelings and thoughts I had hidden inside for years and labeled as wrong, weird, or disgraceful, by turning them into powerful pieces of the true “me”.  Some of my favorite chunks of the book included introversion in the United States being buried by extroversion, the use of our time, going on retreats, recognizing other introverts, and most importantly for me, the conversation conundrum and how to say “no”.  I feel like I have unlocked a concealed part of myself that has been held prisoner for my entire life. I’m finally free to be me, if I can just practice putting some of these tactics into use confidently.

“Here’s a well-kept secret: introversion is not defined by lack.  Introversion, when embraced, is a wellspring of riches.”

I think numerous introverts feel disconnected or different, especially children or teens, and don’t know their full potential or even understand their proclivity to an introverted lifestyle yet. This book can be ground breaking for allowing people to grow up without the insecurity that comes from being quiet in a loud world.  Most people don’t know over half of people in the world could be considered introverts- half!  We really aren’t as alone or different as we may fear.  Most of us are simply masquerading as extroverts in public, and retreating, exhausted back home in the evenings.
“It’s one thing if extroverts don’t see us, but it’s even more tragic when introverts no longer see introverts.”
This book can teach how to be content being who you are– nothing could possibly be more freeing! My only regret is not reading it sooner. When a person discovers and confidently proclaims their inner workings in their own way, they will find their God-given power for taking on the world.
“How would my life be different if I accepted as true my own thinking? The idea was so simple, yet incredibly liberating.  ‘Accepting as true’ would mean no more reaching, defending or explaining– no more contorted attempts to line myself up with the world.”
It is not just acceptable but sometimes needed for us introverts leave a social gathering early, or not go at all.  Can you imagine being asked to go to a party, and simply answering with, “I’d rather not.”?  Before reading, I couldn’t either.  Society has conditioned us to deny our introverted nature in favor of the comforting extrovert ideal, but in reality we are  pretending and suffering.  Instead, we should be unapologetic for our need for solitude because it is at the core of our being.  As extroverts need social interaction, our need for solitude rejuvenates the introvert, allowing us to reach our full potential.
 “Ignore ‘should’;  follow ‘want.’  The word ‘should’ is a good indication that somebody else’s standards are involved. ‘Want’ is within you, and is the seed of change.”

If you are tired of putting on an act in public, confused about why you seem to be the only one not enjoying the party, sick of making excuses for why you’d rather be at home, or looking for a better way to converse, this book is for you.  It is an eye-opening and life changing read that I could not recommend more.

I am introverted, hear me roar….or not because I’m too quiet to go about roaring and drawing unwanted attention to myself. Quiet confidence is better anyway. 😉

Enjoy,

Ashley

If you are curious about this introvert/extrovert business, take the Myers-Briggs Personality Type Indicator quiz here. It is truly enlightening!

Links to purchase:
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

