A Different Blue – Review

img_7696I’m convinced Amy Harmon is a genius.  I read my first book, The Bird and the Sword, by her earlier this year and have been trying to get my hands on everything she’s written since then.  Her writing is smart, beautiful and full of emotion.  I finished A Different Blue this morning and I’m simply devastated it is over.  Every time I had to set this book down I was excited for when I would be able to pick it up again.  Not all books are created equal, and most books do not make me feel this level of excitement.

Blue Echohawk was abandoned by her young mother as a toddler, and struggles to figure out who she is or where she came from.  To fill her internal emptiness, Blue uses on her outward appearance and snarky attitude to push people away.  When she enters her History class, with a new, fresh-faced British professor, she finds someone who may be willing to look past the painted on exterior.  Someone who can challenge her attitude, test her intelligence, and open her hard heart.  With the help of her unlikely friend, Blue is able to focus more on where she is going, and less on the mystery of where she came from. There is beauty in the revelations that lead to the redemption of Blue.  A different Blue.

“Sometimes the things we want to be rescued from can save us.”

Nothing I can write can do an iota of justice to Amy’s stunning writing.  I have to read her books slowly, so I am able to fully feel every word and thought she means for the reader to experience.  She was given a gift of using her words to accurately describe emotions many of us feel inside, but don’t know how to express.  She can describe a feeling as a concrete object, and pull us directly into a fictional character’s shoes.  Many authors write to tell a story, but Amy’s writing does that and more.

As someone who is easily bored by dialogue in books, I was thoroughly impressed with the conversations of this story.  I felt like I was sitting in class listening to a teacher, but not just any droning, boring teacher.  I was interested in the lessons Wilson was teaching!  I enraptured by the history I was able to take away from this novel.  Who else can make a fictional teacher as captivating as Amy did?  I may have been secretly in love with his British accent, though.

The only negatives I found with the story were so minor.  I felt the story started a bit slow, but this was essential to develop the future events.  I also wished there was more of a resolution at the end with Manny and Melody’s futures, instead of implication.  However, I highly recommend this book (4.5 stars for me), and would consider re-reading it in a future reading slump!

I’m nervously awaiting my chance to have Amy sign my books at The Bookworm Box next month.  I know I will either be a blubbering mess or silently shoving my books at her to sign and running away, then kicking myself the entire drive home.  Follow us on Instagram to see my awkwardness firsthand! 😉

Remember, her new book From Sand and Ash comes out on December 1fsa-promo-10st!  I’ve only heard raving reviews so far, even comments that go as far as to say this is her best work yet.  I’m praying my book will arrive before the signing on December 10th, and in time for me to read ahead of time!  I wish Amazon could tell me what the point of pre-ordering a book that releases December 1st is, if I won’t receive the book until December 7-10th?  I’ll save that grumpy venting for another time, however.

See, I told y’all I wouldn’t adequately describe A Different Blue.  Go… Read It!  I’m amazed and sad it’s over.
Happy Reading!
❤Ashley

AMAZON US
AMAZON UK
AMAZON DE – English Copy
AMAZON DE – German Copy

Leave a Reply

