Our Favorite Books of 2016

It has been a great year of reading, learning, and discovering new authors. We have fully immersed ourselves in the reading community, made new friends through it, and have had a wonderful year all thanks to the books we’ve grown to love.
And here is a list of our favorite books of 2016:

Ashley

Marrow – Tarryn Fisher
No list for me would be complete without this book.  After I finished F*ck Love, I had to get my hands on everything Tarryn had ever written.  Marrow not only took the top spot of my favorite book of 2016, but of my favorite book of all-time.  I can’t say enough good things about it. Though, I will probably never write a review on it, because it will never live up to my expectations or properly convey what I want to express. It was written so beautifully and I connect so personally to the dark subject matter within. “Baby, I’m crazy.”

Mud Vein – Tarryn Fisher
I’ve never read anything like Mud Vein, before or since.  It was one of the deepest and most soul-searing books I’ve ever encountered.  The entire time, the reader is questioning “What the Hell is going on??”  After Mud Vein, I wanted to crawl into Tarryn’s mind and live there.

itlIn This Life – Christine Brae
I have never in my life been so utterly devastated and broken over a book before.  Which obviously means, you’d better get your hands on it immediately.  Ugly cry times infinity. Not to mention, Christine’s writing is exquisite, and her heart is even more stunning.  I can’t wait for her release of 8 Goodbyes in 2017, it’s sure to be incredible.

It Ends With Us – Colleen Hoover
No list would be complete without IEWU.  I wish I could somehow let Colleen know how deeply this book affected me. As someone who suffered through a similar situation as the main character, Lily, I had never before read words to communicate so clearly the feelings I felt during that time in my life.  It is a serious Girl Power book I wish every woman would read.

from-sandFrom Sand and Ash – Amy Harmon
I could list every Amy Harmon book here, but her newest release takes the top spot as my favorite of hers.  I’m in awe of Amy’s writing, research, and the depth of the story and characters she created.  This book features one of the most romantic albeit devastating scenes I have ever read.  Even if you are not a history buff, this book begs to be read, for the sake of the humanity it captures.

A Different Blue– Amy Harmon
Blue’s story of redemption was something that felt personal to my own life in some ways. I loved her resilience and her inner voice throughout the story.  I can’t forget to mention Darcy, he was one of the best book boyfriends ever written, without a doubt.

a-place-in-the-sunA Place in the Sun – R.S. Grey
I’ve never been so easily transported to a different location without my feet ever leaving the ground. R.S. Grey captured the essence of Vernazza so perfectly, while crafting an exceptionally sweet story with perfect pacing from hate to love.

Get in the Car, Jupiter – Fisher Amelie
This book came at a perfect time for me.  I was depressed with what I had been reading and needed something happy, stat!  Jupiter was one of the most fun characters I’ve ever read-I’m still hoping she exists somewhere and wants to be my best friend.  I’ll settle for Fisher herself. 😉 Plus, I love a good road trip, especially one in a muscle car.

Midnight Lily – Mia Sheridan
I really love books with characters that are a little off kilter.  This book had such a dreamy feel to it that was so different from any reality any of us ever encounter. This book was right up my alley.

Archer’s Voice – Mia Sheridan
This is a love story of another caliber completely.  It was different, fresh, and easy to love.

rouge.pngRouge – JR Rogue
JR Rogue has given me the ability to love poetry again this year.  I related to so many of her poems in Rouge.  This is a book I will read again and again.

Introvert Power – Laurie Helgoe
My favorite non-fiction book of the year was easily Introvert Power.  I have been employing a great many of the strategies found within the pages of this book, and feel more confident in my life as a proud Introvert.

Wild – Cheryl Strayd
Since I am currently unable to take six months to a year off from adulting, I found this book to be the perfect fix for my need of Wanderlust.  I really hope to be able to discover books of a similar nature to this one in 2017.

 

Sabrina

The Dimg_6569-updatedeal – Elle Kennedy
This Deal is probably one of my favorite new adult novels ever. It’s so much more than the typical college romance story you would expect: it’s fun, sexy and it’s not as cheesy as you may think. It also has some hot ice-hockey players… 😉

Full Measures – Rebecca Yarros
This book was oh so bittersweet! I loved every minute of it. Ember and Josh are perfect!

In This Life – Christine Brae
What can I say about this book except one thing: read it! It’s such a heartbreaking story you don’t want to miss. Don’t forget the tissues! 😥

The Breathing Series – Rebecca Donovan
The Breathing series was the first buddy read Ashley and I did and it was so great to experience Emma’s story together. This series is not your typical fun, young adult read. It deals with a very touchy subject and gives you something to think about. It’s worth picking up!

beholdenBeloved & Beholden – Corinne Michaels
Corinne Michaels is one of my favorite authors and The Belonging Duet was such a great read. I love to read about badass women like Catherine. And Jackson… ❤

Consolation & Conviction – Corinne Michaelsconsolation
I don’t know why but I am a sucker for a good military novel. The Consolation Duet is one of those but it’s even better than good, it’s perfect! It also has Liam who is on my Top-5-Book-Boyfriend-List. ❤ Have I mentioned that these book were a re-read this year? I loved it so much I couldn’t resist!

Too Late – Colleen Hoover
Too Late was hands down the most fun and entertaining book experience this year! If you haven’t experienced the madness yourself, you need to get this book now. You wouldn’t believe how crazy the journey was if I told you. Initially released on Wattpad for free, Colleen gave in to us begging CoHort’s to turn it into a paperback novel! THANK YOU!

archerArcher’s Voice – Mia Sheridan
This is book was everything! I laughed, I cried and I cried some more. Archer’s Voice is such a beautiful novel and one of my favorites of all time!

Him – Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy
I loved this novel so much! Jamie and Wesley were great together. And again: hot ice-hockey guys!

Love on The Edge Series – Molly E. Lee
Molly did something no one else has done before her – at least I think so… 😀 She combined crazy adventures with romance and it turned out to be so great! Hurricanes, treasure hunting, deep-sea diving, you name it.

Black Lies – Alessandra Torre
I have a love-hate relationship with this book. The first part of the story was not my cup of tea at all, but then came the plot twist and BOOM – I loved it! I still can’t believe what Alessandra Torre put me through!

Scoring Wilder – R.S. Grey
A hot guy, soccer… What else is there NOT to love!

Everyday Sexism – Laura BatesIMG_6352_update
This book is my absolte favorite non-fiction book of this year. Although this book made me upset and mad, I am glad I read it. It’s such an important subject to talk about and be aware of. Everyone – women and men – should read this book!

A Place In The Sun – R.S. Grey
It has been a few months since reading A Place In The Sun but I still want to go to Vernazza! Is there anyone who wants to join me? Grey always creates fantastic novels you can’t get enough of. I can’t wait for her next release!

With This Heart – R.S. Grey
Another feel-good novel by Grey about two people going on an epic road trip. Needless to say that I want to go on a road trip, too – NOW!

Behind Closed Doors – B.A. Paris
Holy guacamole! This thriller had me hooked from page 1! It gave me the creeps and made me shudder so many times. How can someone come up with stuff like that?! Read this novel and don’t forget: #StaySingle! 😉

What are some of your favorite books of 2016?

All the best to you in 2017.
Just keep reading,
Ashley & Sabrina

4 thoughts on “Our Favorite Books of 2016

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

