Behind Closed Doors

ba-parisBehind Closed Doors is told from the perspective of Grace, a newlywed with the perfect marriage. Grace is the definition of the ideal wife- she hosts beautiful dinners with excellent food, she is perfectly doting and enamored with her husband, and she never lets on than that life is less than heavenly.  However, Grace is never seen sans her husband. She is frequently sick, rarely enjoys times with friends, and lives in a home with giant metal shutters covering the downstairs windows while her husband is away.  If that doesn’t raise red flags, I don’t know what would.  However, everyone in the couple’s life does not seem to question a thing Jack or Grace says or does.  They are perfect, after all.  Or are they?

Ever since reading the blurb of the book, I could not wait to start. I was hooked from page one until the very end and I wanted to find out what could possibly be wrong with a “perfect” couple like Jack and Grace ASAP! But let’s be honest: no couple, no marriage or relationship is perfect. And if they seem flawless, perfect and too good to be true then there’s definitely something wrong! And oh boy, so many things were wrong! And if you think the blurb already raised a lot of questions, wait until you’ve read the first five chapters! Then you will have a lot of questions!

The story is told from Grace’s “Present” and “Past” POV. I liked the fact that with each new chapter previously asked questions were answered. However, with each new chapter new questions arose. Toward the end, the “Present” and “Past” chapters got a little confusing but it made the story even more interesting, I just wanted to know what was going on!
Also, the story got crazier by the chapter and I seriously started to question humanity! First and foremost: How can someone come up with such a twisted story? Then: Are there really people like that in that world? What if right now this is happening to someone I know? What if this will happen to someone I know in the future? What if that someone will be me?! If you’ve read the story and are reading this right now, please don’t tell me you didn’t have the same questions?!

BA Paris created a great and thought through story that had me shudder and cringe so many times! And all the “perfection” made me wanna throw up. The story had the perfect amount of suspense, the ending however was slightly disappointing in my eyes.

So far I haven’t read many thrillers in my life because I was absolutely sure that this genre is not for me. Wrong, I love it! After reading The Girl on The Train and now Behind Closed Doors, I cannot wait to read more of these suspense thrillers!
Also, I’m glad Ashley and I buddy-read this book! It was so much fun to discuss the story and all the crazy characters.
If you haven’t read this book yet, do it! Maybe you’re someone like me who thinks that this genre is boring. Maybe this book will change your mind!

And don’t forget: #StaySingle
Sabrina ♥


First, let me say how excited I am now that Sabrina is now hooked on Thrillers.  This genre has always been a favorite of mine, and I’m always happy to share some of my favorite books with others.  Behind Closed Doors was definitely an excellent book from this genre. The mystery of the story was incredibly intriguing- unputdownable!  I couldn’t wait for what was going to come next, and what small tidbit would be revealed.

Like Sabrina said, books like this one make me question if everyone has something to hide.  Is everyone a little crazy?  What must the author’s mind be like to create such a story?

BA Paris did an amazing job developing her characters, Jack was easy to hate, while the reader cannot help but root for Grace.  The whole story I was eagerly waiting for her to take action, to let out her inner bad ass.

In the end, I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  However, the ending was a little too abrupt for my taste.  I felt like I needed more information to conclude the story.  What happened with Grace and Millie?  For that reason, I only gave the book 4 stars.  I like to have a full picture painted in my head at the end of books, and felt as if I didn’t get it with this one. Nonetheless, this is an excellent debut novel by B.A. Paris.  I am looking forward to what she comes up with next.

If you haven’t tried reading a book with a pal, Sabrina and I highly recommend it.  It is especially fun with books in this genre, because together you can speculate on the outcome of the story to see if you can guess what will happen.  If something gets confusing within the plot, there is someone to ask!  Simply read 5 chapters at a time together, then discuss, like we do.  The book will fly by, and you will get to have a fun experience with a friend.

Happy Reading,
♥Ashley

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon DE

Leave a Reply

