Dearest Clementine – Review

clemPeople say “The third time’s a charm” and they are absolutely right when it comes to Dearest Clementine by Lex Martin. And no, it is not that I finally finished the novel on the third attempt, because it was so bad. It is rather the opposite actually: it was my third time reading this story, as it is one of my absolute favorite books – ever. Dearest Clementine has everything I love in a novel and so much more. It definitely classifies as new adult since the characters are in their early twenties and attend University. I won’t judge you for thinking that this is “just another college-new-adult novel” because this was my first impression too after reading the blurb. But believe me when I say that this novel is way more than that. The storyline has real depths and the characters are very well thought through. The story is funny, romantic, serious and also a little angsty. But let me tell you a little bit more about the book I love so much.
Clementine is a senior at Boston University and doesn’t date – ever. Her ex-boyfriend from high school and her freshman professor who stalked her made sure she lost hope and trust in all men. When she finds herself in a romance writing class and in need for inspiration, she turns to Gavin Murphy. The heartthrob of the entire campus is more than willing to take over the part of her book boyfriend. Clementine relcutantly accepts, anything in the name of research… right? As Clementine and Gavin grow closer, they get involved in the mysterious disappearing of a student and Clementine may be next.

Clem is a girl after my liking. I consider myself closed off too, especially when it comes to the male species in this world, although I have different reasons than her. Like Clem, I have a good friend who often tells me not to be so bitchy on a night out: “Be nice!” Yeah… No. πŸ˜€ Since I can identify myself with Clem really well, I had a deeper connection to the book altogether, which I really liked.

You can’t stand the heat? Then stay out of the kitchen.

Then there is Gavin Murphy… There are not enough words and expressions in the English or German language that will do his character justice. Gavin is smart, funny, kind, understanding, honest, loyal and sexy as hell. All of those qualities and more qualify him to be in my top-3-list of book boyfriends:

I’m doing this is in the name of academics. You need inspiration? You’re looking at it. Now shut up and let me kiss you.

Seriously, who doesn’t want a Gavin Murphy in their life? If you know where to order one, let me know, because I’m in need of some inspiration, too. πŸ˜‰

I really enjoyed the storyline of this novel, or should I rather say storylines? Dearest Clementine focuses on more than one and they are all linked together somehow within the novel. But don’t let that put you off. Lex Martin has managed to find the perfect balance between all of the storylines. It doesn’t feel overloaded or overwhelming at all.
The dynamic between the secondary and the main characters were great as well.
I usually don’t comment on book covers but how can I not say anyhing about this one? It is utterly beautiful! The colors, the font, the picture… I absolutely love it. β™₯

I can’t wait to hear what you have to say about this novel.

Lots of bookish love,
Sabrina β™₯

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon DE – English Copy
Amazon DE – German Copy (Rlease date: Dec 7th, pre-order now!)


Follow us!

Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads Ashley | Goodreads Sabrina

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

