Background Music – Review

As a huge fan of J.R. Rogue’s poetry, I was eager to get my hands on her upcoming novel Background Music. Her writing has opened my world to a love and enjoyment of poetry I have never experienced before. I trust her ability as an author to make me feel her words, and I was prepared for a full range of emotions with Background Music.

BLURB

“You’re more than background music for someone else’s life.”


It’s the message that will change everything.

The message Kat Roberts receives from a man she’s never met.

The message no one else is supposed to see but her.

The message that leads to the greatest violence

against her body she will ever know.

 

Prologue

Kat

I’LL ALWAYS REMEMBER THE BACKGROUND MUSIC that played downstairs that night. Those notes will forever haunt me. They played softly as midnight struck, as our friends and family raised glasses and kissed lips. So softly, so delicately, as my husband raped me in our upstairs bedroom. As he pinned my arms behind my back. As he told me not to cry out. As he convinced me it was what I deserved.

After reading the prologue, I couldn’t wait to discover more of Kat’s story. I don’t mind dark subject matter, as it usually leads to the most emotionally riveting stories.  I also remembered Kat as Sera’s best friend from Rogue’s first novel, Burning Muses. While this book is a standalone, it is always fun to make connections with an author’s previous novels.

I believe J.R. Rogue was able to really hone her storytelling with this book. I was impressed with the plot, plot twist near the end, and the character development in Rogue’s second novel. This makes for a more memorable story and more of a connection with the characters. While I was prepared for a darker story, I was pleasantly surprised with Rogue’s delicate handling of the rough subject matter. If the prologue makes readers nervous, be comforted in knowing there are no graphic descriptions or details on the subject of rape. It simply adds a deeper aspect to Kat’s past and leads readers to understand her more fully in the present.
My favorite facet of the story was reading from Andrew’s perspective. He was a witty, light-hearted, and refreshing voice. I was rooting for him to get the girl and to become the man he was longing to be.

“Do any of us look at ourselves with the same lens everyone else is using?”

“I’d wager a guess you don’t see yourself the way I see you right now.”

 Swoon.

J.R. Rogue has found a fan for life in me. I will be eager to read anything she puts out, be it poetry or a novel. Her writing gets better and better with each novel, her story is more developed and her characters are “people” I want to know. I loved some of one-liners in the story as well, “Liquid courage could transform cowards into punching bags,” and “Guilt is an accessory I never desired to acquire.” I felt like these lines allowed me to have a taste of the beautiful poetry Rogue’s known for while reading her book. I’m anxious to see what next from this author and to watch her writing continue to blossom. If you’ve yet to discover the incredible writing of J.R. Rogue, please pick up her newest novel! It is currently available for pre-order and is releasing on March 9th.  Find the links to purchase this beautiful story of redemption below. You won’t want to miss out on the talent of an amazing artist.
Bloggers, sign up for an ARC while you still can on: www.jrrogue.com!

 

Happy Reading,
♥ Ashley
AMAZON US
AMAZON UK
AMAZON DE

Leave a Reply

