Hollywood Dirt – Review

IMG_9167I’ve had this novel on my TBR for quite some time and I finally had the chance to read it. And thanks to Ashley’s awesome birthday present last month, I had the chance to read a signed and personalized (!) copy. ♥

Hollywood meets dirt road. Cole Masten meets Summer Jenkins.
When Hollywood actor and newest bachelor Cole Masten decided to film his new movie in small town Quincy, Georgia, no one was prepared for the havoc he would cause – and least of them Summer. Or was Cole not prepared to meet the feisty blonde? Either way, Cole and Summer were from different worlds and when they collided, no one was sure if they made it out alive.

What I really enjoyed about the novel was the idea of the background story. Well, it is not really an idea since the story behind Cole’s decision to film his newest movie in Quincy, Georgia was built on true events. Events that really happened in the 1920s/30s. I don’t know how Alessandra Torre came up with the thought of writing a novel around this story, but I must say it was a really great one. Still, I really had a hard time getting into the novel and I can’t put my finger on a particular thing why that was. Maybe there were a few things that came together.

The story was told from Summer’s POV as well as a third-person narrative that mostly focused on Cole’s life and thoughts. Personally, this odd POV change was too confusing. Plus, I never quite knew, if the next chapter was about Summer or Cole, since it wasn’t indicated on top of the page. And the fact that the chapters were really really short didn’t help its cause either. They ranged from half a page to five/six pages maximum and were too abrupt and at the expense of the story’s flow.

Cole Masten was definitely a spoiled Hollywood actor. Of course being in the business for more than a decade rubs off on someone, but his condescending-business-actor-attitude didn’t appeal to me. With Summer, however, Cole showed his real side which was much more pleasant, however I wasn’t convinced of him 100%.
Summer definitely was a tough Southern Belle with a feisty attitude. Still there was something off about her.
Cole and Summer’s relationship consisted of love but most of all hate – at least in the majority of the book. Unfortunately, their attraction to one another was not noticeable at all – at least to me. There were no sparks whatsoever and their lusting after each other was too quick from 0 to 100.
Also, the ending of the story was a little bit too rushed and forced.

I’m pretty sure that most of you know this already but for those of you who don’t: Hollywood Dirt has been made into a movie. In Alessandra’s last newsletter she informed us that the filming has wrapped. The movie is now in the editing stage of the process and will release in September 2017. And although the book didn’t convince me 100%, I am looking forward to the movie adaption and to Cocky, who, let’s be honest guys, was the real star of the book. 😉 I can’t wait to see how it all turned out. Plus, I can now spoil myself with movie pictures. Yay!

Happy Reading,
Sabrina ♥

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon DE

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

