Bookstagram meet up in Hamburg, Germany

About six weeks ago I found out about a bookstagram meet up in Hamburg, Germany in May and since I only live 2 hours from Hamburg I signed up. I couldn’t wait to meet bookstagrammers from Germany and the girls behind the accounts. And finally it was May 13th and I was on my way to Hamburg.

I met the girls in the early afternoon in front of Hamburg’s train station and I was one of the last girls to show up. As an introvert I was a little overwhelmed and slightly anxious to meet so many new people: What if they are not nice to me? What if they don’t like me? What if I say something totally weird? But my initial concerns were unfounded because all the girls were super sweet and kind. I’m not sure, but I still might have said something weird but the girls didn’t tell me, so who knows! πŸ˜€

1 bookstagram editAfter a small speech, we headed towards the Europa-Passage which is a small shopping mall (compared to the big shopping malls in the States) in the middle of the shopping street in Hamburg. It was a Saturday and the streets were full with shoppers and tourists but we paved our way through them. In the Europa-Passage we first headed downstairs to a shop a called Elbenwald, or “nerd shop” as I would call it. The shop offers all kinds of merchandise from TV shows, animes, movies and games. After a few girls headed inside and bought some stuff, we headed upstairs to Thalia which is basically the Barnes & Noble (US) or Waterstones (UK) from Germany. This particular Thalia has a wide range of English novels an I was happy to browse through the aisles. A good half hour later we headed out of the Europa-Passage and went to another Thalia in the shopping street. Although this Thalia was way bigger than the other one, the offers on English novels were very very slim. Most of the girls bought at least one book (German as well as English ones); I on the other hand didn’t buy any. I really wanted to, but my TBR is already out of control (I have over 130 unread ebooks on my kindle!!) and I didn’t want to add any more unread books to it. πŸ˜‰
In the end we all had an early dinner at restaurant called Vivet. It was the perfect ending to a perfect day.

I’m really happy that I signed up for this bookstagram meet up in Hamburg. All the girls were so nice and friendly and you could talk to all of them easily. It’s funny: most of us were strangers to each other. We haven’t seen or met each other in person before, we have only “seen” the other on social media and yet we all got along so well. It’s great that books can bring people together from so many different backgrounds and age groups.

6 bookstagramThanks again for this great afternoon, ladies and thanks to Sabrina (not me, the other Sabrina! πŸ˜‰ ), Laura and Leighanne for organizing this meet up I hope we all get together again soon.

Lots of bookish love,
Sabrina β™₯

Follow Ashley and me on Instagram. πŸ™‚

 

2 thoughts on “Bookstagram meet up in Hamburg, Germany

Add yours

  1. Hi Sabrina!
    this sums up the day pretty well! It’s nice to read about the meet up from your point of view. I think everyone was a bit nervous at first. I can assure you that you didn’t say anything weird or so. It was really great to get to know you and the other girls. I hope there will be many more bookstagram meet ups in the future.

    cheers
    Melli

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

