The Siren – Review

IMG_9791editedThere were actually two reasons I bought this book last year in England: the first one was the cover. I know, “Don’t judge a book by its cover!” but I couldn’t leave Waterstones without buying this book. The second and much smaller reason was Kiera Cass, the author of this book. You probably all know her from The Selection series. I read book one in that series and wasn’t too impressed to be perfectly honest. I know that a lot of you guys loved The Selection series but it wasn’t for me. I wanted to give Kiera another chance and the blurb sounded interesting enough.

Kahlen has been a Siren for almost a century. She and her sisters live as much of a secluded life as possible and barely interact with humans. But then one day Kahlen meets the guy of her dreams and everything changes in both their lives.

We have all heard or read about the life and doings of Sirens. The story I am familiar with is the one of Sirens sitting on rocks in the ocean, singing songs and luring ships to their ruin. I did some research on Sirens and found out that there are even more stories and tales to them. Their stories go as far back as the Greek Mythology and have been mentioned first by Homer. The first display of Sirens date back to 650 BC and are described as a combination of women and birdlike creatures or mermaids. The stories are endless and I really enjoyed Cass’s interpretation of them. She created her own Siren world, set in the modern world and combined it with “actual facts” from the history books.

Kahlen and Akinli’s relationship starts very sweet and I think that Akinli is a great and genuine guy. They were both perfect for each other, although I wished I would’ve seen more of them together.

My heart was completely gone, his in an instant. He wasn’t sure what was wrong with me and wanted me to stay anyway. He didn’t even know what danger I was in but was ready to fight it for me.

Besides Kahlen and Akinli, three other Sirens and the Ocean play a major role in this novel. All questions concerning the Sirens and their connection to the Ocean will be answered throughout the story. The question of “Why does the Ocean do what She does?” was slightly confusing and should have been answered quicker than it actually was. An earlier explanation would’ve left me with less confusion and a better understanding of the story.

It took a little while for the story to finally take off, which made it very slow-paced in the beginning. The story continued to drag a little until the small plot twist in the middle. After that, it dragged again but toward the end the pace quickened again all of a sudden. This might be the reason why I felt the ending was too rushed. I also would’ve wished for a more detailed conclusion.
A lot of books are straight-forward and after reading the first few chapters you know the basics of how the story is going to end. The Siren was different. Up until the very end I didn’t know how Cass would turn this novel into a HEA. I mean, there had to be a HEA, right? I really enjoyed the unpredictability of this novel.

The Siren, which was actually written before The Selection series, was a nice and solid read. The book was not bad, nor was it very good, which is why I gave this one three stars out of five.

There’s always room for love. Even if it’s as small as a crack in a door.

Lots of bookish love,
Sabrina ♥

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon DE – English Copy
Amazon DE – German Copy

Follow us!
Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads Ashley | Goodreads Sabrina

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

