Here’s To Tomorrow – Review

IMG_9901edited“Teagan Hunter who?” I have to admit, that was my initial reaction about a year ago too, when I heard her name for the first time. But you know what I love? Indie authors! It is a shame that too many of them are still unknown. On top of that, they have to compete against the big well-known published authors. So why not take a chance on them? And that’s what I did with Teagan Hunter‘s Here’s To Tomorrow – and Teagan didn’t disappoint.

Rae Kamden just graduated from college and can’t wait to conquer the big world – or at least that’s what she thinks she wants. She’s torn between leaving her small town and moving to Boston to start a big career. This is when she runs into Hudson Tamell. Although the last seven years haven’t been easy for him, he finally has his life exactly where he wants it. However, meeting Rae and her unfiltered mouth that day makes him rethink everything. Can both handle each others baggage?

Here’s To Tomorrow is your typical New Adult book, except that both main characters are out of college already. I like reading books with slightly older protagonists since I am not in my early twenties anymore myself. 😉
The storyline of this novel was simple and easy. Not the “bad-simple-and-easy”, it was the “good-simple-and-easy”, if that does make any sense at all. Of course Hudson and Rae’s relationship was not sunshine and rainbows all the time, they had to deal with some stuff too, but what relationship doesn’t? Their difficulties were not overly heavy and didn’t overshadow the entire story. Since a lot of authors try too hard with a dramatic and traumatic storyline, I am glad that Teagan decided to focus on the positive things in this one.

I loved Hudson. He was sweet, patient, funny and the perfect gentleman. A lot of male protagonists are cocky, too alpha-male, too well-built and way too full of themselves. Although Hudson was confident and handsome, he was also shy, responsible and very humble. He took his time getting to know Rae and that made his intentions way more genuine than a guy who wants everything a little too fast.
A lot of female characters in NA books are shy and reserved but not Rae. She had no filter whatsoever. She was sassy and said everything that came to her mind. Hudson was totally smitten with that character feature and why should he not? I wish more girls and women in real life would have less of a filter. It’s a part of your personality, so be proud of it. And if a guy doesn’t like it, well, too bad for him. 😉 Rae’s no-filter mouth was refreshing, and besides in real life, I wish that more female book characters were like that.

I can’t say I haven’t read a novel with a story similar to this one, but Teagan created well thought through characters and added great little features that kept the story interesting.
Although I figured out the plot twist early on in the story, I wasn’t disappointed. I was rather happy that it was like I predicted. I enjoyed how everything came together in the end, it made the storyline even sweeter.
Here’s To Tomorrow was a great start to a new series. I can’t wait to read the follow-ups in this series and find out what’s going to happen with the rest of the gang. And I definitely have to look into Transit!

HTT_new_coverSide note: The “Here’s To” series underwent a cover remodelling and the copy of Here’s To Tomorrow you see in the beginning of this review is not available anymore. From June 29th the ebook and the paperpack will only be available with the following cover:

Lots of bookish love,
Sabrina ♥

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon DE

Follow us!
Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads Ashley | Goodreads Sabrina

4 thoughts on “Here’s To Tomorrow – Review

Add yours

  1. I’ll certainly have to check this book out! Thanks for writing a review on a book that I don’t think I would’ve heard about otherwise.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, thank you very much for taking the time to read my review, I really appreciate it.

      My tip would be “Do you what you want”. 😉 It may sound stupid but you should create your blog how you want it. Everything else comes with time. There’s nothing you can do wrong.
      Welcome to the book community!
      Sabrina

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

