Here’s To Yesterday – Review

IMG_9914editedIf you’ve read my review of Here’s To Tomorrow, you probably know that I really enjoyed it (and that you should pick it up too!). Here’s To Yesterday is the second installment in the Here’s To series and I couldn’t wait to dive into it.

To others, Maura Doughers lives the perfect life: she has money and the perfect soldier boyfriend. But appearances can be deceiving. Maura starts to realize that the person everyone wants her to be, is not the person she is meant to be. The boyfriend she should be happy with, makes her everything but happy.
What Maura really wants is forbidden, but she wants it, no matter the consequences!

I have a love-hate relationships with books in a series. Most of the time I love the first book in the series. The characters, the setting, the story – everything is new. But this is not the issue I have. The issue I have is with the follow ups, since my expectations for them are usually way too high. I can’t help it, but when I read a perfect first book I want the follow ups to be equally perfect. I don’t know why that is (I guess it’s just me), but I oftentimes get disappointed. I’m not saying that the follow ups are bad, it’s just that I expect more.
As I mentioned in the beginning, Teagan Hunter‘s debut novel, Here’s To Tomorrow, was great. I loved the easy story as well as the characters. But Here’s To Yesterday seriously topped that!

I don’t want to give too much away, since the short summary in this review and the blurb on Goodreads are a little vague, but the forbidden story-line Teagan went with is great. It is also something I haven’t read in a long while. Nothing is better than reading a fresh story for a change.
I’m pretty sure the readers who have read Here’s To Tomorrow already have an idea what this forbidden story is about and you are right – or maybe not. 😉 But let me tell you, the ride these two characters go on is as bumpy as it can get.

“I want to kiss you, but I can’t. I want to hold your hand, but I can’t. I want to sweep you off your feet, but I can’t. I can’t do any of it, but I want to.” I nod again because that’s what I want. “But no matter how bad we want it, it can’t happen.”

The story is told in POV sections which was a nice change instead of the usual alternating POV. We first get to see the story through Maura’s eyes. The next section is told from his POV and the third and final one is about them (here we will find the alternating POV).
Both main characters, who first appear in Here’s To Tomorrow, feel deeply and have a lot of layers to their personalities which get revealed bit by bit.
The storyline was so interesting, it kept me captivated from the very first page until the very last. Teagan kept the story even more interesting by revealing some surprising things about both characters and by adding a huge plot twist.
Here’s To Yesterday has the right amount of drama and heartache to make it a perfect follow-up.

I really enjoyed this book and I actually like this story slightly better than the first. It is definitely a must-read not only for Here’s To Tomorrow fans, but also for readers who haven’t read anything by Teagan Hunter yet. Although for the newbies here, I would recommend you read Here’s To Tomorrow first.
Next is Gaige!

HTY_new_coverSide note: The “Here’s To” series underwent a cover remodelling and the copy of Here’s To Yesterday you see in the beginning of this review is not available anymore. From June 29th the ebook and the paperpack will only be available with the following cover:

Lots of bookish love,
Sabrina ♥

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon DE

Follow us!
Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads Ashley | Goodreads Sabrina

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

