Here’s To Now – Review

IMG_0106editedAfter a short break from the “Here’s To” series by Teagan Hunter I was excited to finally dive into Here’s To Now!

Gaige Addams has been dealt more than one painful hand of cards throughout his life. Because of the mistakes he made in his past, he lives his life full of shame, grudges and regret. He won’t loosen up, always places other’s needs in front of his own and keeps secrets from the people closest to him. Then Haley Kamden stumbles into his life. She makes him see that life is something enjoyable. She convinces him to live in the now and not in the past. Everything went well: then Gaige’s past started to play catch up and on top of that they both decided to get married in Vegas.

I know what you are thinking right now: “Not another book in which two characters get drunk in Vegas, get married in front of Elvis, only to wake up the next morning, regretting their decision and demanding an annulment.” I had similar thoughts before diving into the story because it sounds so cliché. But let me ease your concerns right now: the focus in this book is not on the wedding. Yes, it is a part of the story but it’s just a small part and it takes nothing away from the actual story.

If you’ve read my previous reviews of Here’s To Tomorrow and Here’s To Yesterday you know that those novels had a dual alternative POV (HTT) and a dual POV that was divided into sections (HTY). This time, Teagan Hunter decided on a single narrative and told the story from Gaiges’s POV. As much as I would’ve loved to know more about Haley and her way of thinking, I’m glad Teagan focused on him only. Gaige has been the mystery man since book one and I was excited to finally look behind his facade. His character is very complex and I was very intrigued and surprised by his past because it was nothing I would’ve guessed. Apart from the single POV, the book was divided into three big parts which suited the story perfectly.

As I already mentioned, Gaige and Haley’s wedding in Vegas is only a small part of the novel. The decision to get married may have been a spur-of-the-moment decision, their relationship, however, is anything but. So many novels these days are about insta-love and insta-attraction and although these two have been attracted to each other from the very beginning, all they were was friends. They just wanted to spend time with someone, someone who understood them, someone they could just be with. The development from strangers to acquaintances to friends to lovers was honest, real and believable.

“Love was always something I knew about, but it was something I’d never truly experienced. I was comfortable with that. […] Then you came along. You crashed into my life when I wasn’t looking. You sneaked into my heart in the wildest of ways. […] You’ve done something to me, awakened me somehow. I don’t know how or when, but it happened. […] I don’t even think love is a strong enough word to describe what you make me feel.”

Besides Gaige and Haley, we also get to see the other members of the gang. Because all their stories started off at the same time and because their friendships are entwined with each other, we get to experience some of their stories all over again but from a different perspective which I really enjoyed.
Here’s To Now is a worthy follow-up and it’s safe to say that this series became one of my favorites in the past two months.
Be sure to check out my other reviews in this series: Here’s To Tomorrow (#1) and Here’s To Yesterday (#2).

HTN_new_coverSide note: The “Here’s To” series underwent a cover remodelling and the copy of Here’s To Now you see in the beginning of this review is not available anymore. From June 29th the e-book and the paperback will only be available with the following cover:

Happy Reading,
Sabrina ♥

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon DE


Follow us!
Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads Ashley | Goodreads Sabrina

Leave a Reply

