Atheists Who Kneel and Pray – Review

“Gimme, Gimme more,
Gimme, More,
Gimme, Gimme, More..”


Tarryn Fisher makes me sing Britney Spears after every book of hers I finish. I want more of her words. I want to live inside her mind. I want to be her friend, absorb some of her badassery.

She’s my favorite author for a reason, but often times when I try to pimp her writing out, it is met with lackluster reviews. That makes me love her more. Her writing is deep, emotional, and not everyone’s merry cup of tea. She is a soul writer, she doesn’t write to impress, she writes for the sake of art. Her art tugs at the red thread in my soul. Be warned, when you pick up a Tarryn novel,  you must leave any expectations at the door. You’ll never get what you think.

“She’s insane but those are the sorts of people you cherish.”

I was enjoying a vacation when I started this book, so I was unable to completely devour it like normal. I’m glad I took it slow. This story needed time to digest. When I started, I kept thinking, “I can’t find Tarryn here.” Yara was so insecure, so unsure of herself. She sounded more like a young version of myself than the Tarryn I’m used to. Honestly, I was wondering if this might be the first book of hers I didn’t like. Yara’s running, her quirkiness, and her mommy issues were like looking in a mirror. A dirty, broken mirror I didn’t want to see my reflection in. Ouch, sometimes it really hurts to examine our pasts. By now I should expect some of those sharp edges of reflection to cut me when I read her books. I didn’t realize how much I need to look back, to fix my present, until I was staring myself in the face. Yara reached out, handed me the confidence I needed and told me not to let it go. I’m worthy. By the end of this book, I was in tears. The conclusion felt so personal. Tarryn “gave feet to my thoughts;” my deepest, most buried desires. The fictional ending gave me peace for a real-life resolution I am unlikely to ever experience.

“You don’t forgive because they deserve it. Most of the time they don’t. You forgive to keep your heart soft. To move forward without bitterness. Forgiveness is for you.”

I don’t know how to review Tarryn Fisher novels, because they’re unlike anything I’ve ever been exposed to. They touch parts of me other books cannot reach. Instead of a traditional review, I wrote something to all of you that I would write in a diary. My personal feelings of how this novel cracked me open, put things I needed inside, and stitched me back together. Simply, it’s 5 stars from me. I’m not telling you to read this book because you’ll love it – you may not. I’m telling you to read this book because Yara is woman, and you need to hear her roar. She is written with a realness that I think all of us without a Y-chromosome can relate to. Not to mention, she’s British!

Oh Yara, I love you so.

Lots of Bookish Love,
♥Ashley


Follow us!
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads Ashley | Goodreads Sabrina

 

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon DE

7 thoughts on “Atheists Who Kneel and Pray – Review

Add yours

  1. i have been eyeing this book ever since i heard of it. seeing your review just made me want to instapurchase!!! i have yet to read a Fisher novel but all i have heard are amazing things. i will definitely be buying this.

    you sold me with this line: “She is a soul writer, she doesn’t write to impress, she writes for the sake of art.”

    Like

  2. Ahhh! “I want to live inside her mind. I want to be her friend.” Gosh, it feels good to not be the only nutcase I know. I love your review of this book. You are spot on about Tarryn. And I’m so glad this book did some stitching to your heart. Just imagine what the reread will be like! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

