The Other Girl – Review

img_2418Thank you to St. Martin’s Press and Netgalley for the chance to review The Other Girl on 5171 Miles Book Blog! Erica Spindler can spin one heck of a story (pun intended)! This was a gripping page-turner I couldn’t put down.

Miranda Radar is a detective for her local police department investigating an ugly crime of passion against a revered college professor. When she stumbles upon an article about a crime she reported as a teenager among the victim’s belongings, things turn personal. Miranda can’t seem to pin down how the victim holds a part of the history she has worked hard to bury, but she is hell-bent on figuring it out and proving her side of the story once and for all. Even if she loses everything in the process.

Erica Spindler had me hook, line, and sinker from the very first chapter. I was glad to have my hands on something that would be a fast-paced, easy read to get lost in for a little while. Though I had the ending of this story mostly pegged from the beginning chapters, I couldn’t stop reading, anxiously awaiting to see if my conclusions were correct. While I predicted the series of events, I would not begin to call this a predictable novel. I found it to be a well plotted and paced novel that held my interest throughout. I enjoyed Miranda’s determination and the depth of her character. Viewing her past perspective and her growth to the present day allows readers to feel more of an understanding of what drives her. I was pleasantly surprised with the bits of romance sprinkled in, and the addition of Miranda being suspicious of her lover as the case became more tense.

I would give this novel 3.5 stars, rounding up to 4 based on my interest level. Though it was an exciting read, I didn’t find anything within that stood out as exceptionally unique. It was simply a good book with a Mary Higgins Clark-mystery-feel. Based on the author’s skilled plotting, I would be thrilled to pick up more of her work in the future, for a day of reading something quick and enjoyable.

Be sure to pick up this thrilling novel on August 22nd, or pre-order a copy now with the links below!

Lots of Bookish Love,
♥ Ashley

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon DE

Follow us!
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads Ashley | Goodreads Sabrina

4 thoughts on “The Other Girl – Review

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

