London Belongs to Me – Review


As an Anglophile, I knew I had to read London Belongs to Me as soon as I saw Colleen Hoover post a giveaway for this title on Instagram. I love everything about England and was in need of a cheerful bit of Chick-Lit to read after the heavy books I’ve been hitting lately.  Jacquelyn Middleton hit the ball out of the park with her debut novel. After almost 400 pages, I was still left wanting more. Reviewed by Ashley

“I love London. I watch British movies just to see London streets. Isn’t it weird how you can fall in love with a place you’ve never even visited?”

If that line didn’t hook me, nothing could have. I felt such a connection to the main character, Alex, because our personalities seem eerily similar. Is Jacquelyn Middleton the pen name of one of my friends? 😉 It’s like she knows me.

Alex is a girl looking to escape her rapidly deteriorating life in Florida after the devastation of being cheated on by her longtime boyfriend. As a recent college graduate, she’s determined to make her name for herself in London’s theater sphere as a playwrite. However, when she crosses the pond, things don’t quite go according to plan. Alex finds herself questioning her decision to run away from Florida after her friend and roommate’s conniving girlfriend makes her feel unwelcome in the city she loves. She didn’t expect to find herself lonely in London upon arrival.

One of my favorite qualities about Alex was how endearingly dorky she was! She wasn’t ashamed to be a proud fangirl of things she loved, including Doctor Who and Sherlock. I felt like she was comfortable being who she was even though she happened to be lonely and feel out of the loop at times. The greatest aspect of her dorkiness was the friends it allowed her to make! Lucy and Freddie were the coolest and most supportive friends to help Alex through her trials with the wicked Olivia. I wanted to hang out with all of them, too!

“Sometimes the people dearest to you aren’t the ones you see everyday. Sometimes your besties are at the end of an Internet connection, smiling in solidarity over a new film trailer or geeky t-shirt design.”

Image result for domhnall gleesonAnd Mark! Oh Mark! I can’t help but picture Domnhall Gleason as Alex’s Irish, actor, heart-throb boyfriend; though Mark is probably a little more conventionally handsome and dark-haired. However, I might be a little infatuated with the image of him as Gleason – he’s my nerdy celeb crush, after all. 😉 How good of an Anglophile would I be if I didn’t gush over the British (technically Irish, in this case) actors, too? (*fans self*) Back on topic, Mark’s spontaneous Vespa scene was probably one of my favorite book boyfriend moments of all time. What girl wouldn’t love a free tour of one of the coolest British cities while grasping the waist of a hot Irishman?

35906271Overall, this was the easy, girly read I was hoping to find within the pages of this book. Sometimes, I just need to get lost in Fictional London. Luckily,  Jacquelyn Middleton will be releasing the sequel to this adorably, fun novel in October. I couldn’t be more excited! It’s time to get your hands on London Belongs to Me before London, Can You Wait? comes out! The good news is this title is only $1.99 for Kindle and will be hitting Kindle Unlimited soon. Read it now and come back here to tell me your thoughts. Let’s be dorky fangirls together. 🙂

Happy Reading,
♥Ashley

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon DE

Follow us!
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads Ashley | Goodreads Sabrina

9 thoughts on “London Belongs to Me – Review

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

